Goodnight Mister Tom

Author: Michelle Magorian

  • Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Published: 03 Mar 2011
  • Recommended Age: 10 - 12 years
Buy Now

Synopsis

Goodnight Mister Tom is a children's classic by Michelle Magorian, author of Back Home, about an evacuee from London during the Second World War. Perfect for fans of Carrie's War by Nina Bawden.

When the Second World War breaks out, young Willie Beech is evacuated to the countryside.

A sad, deprived child, he slowly begins to flourish under the care of kind of Tom Oakley. But then his cruel mother summons him back to war-torn London. . .

Will he ever see Mister Tom again?

'Everyone's idea of a smash-hit first novel: full-blown characters to love and hate, moments of grief and joy, and a marvellous story that knows just how to grab the emotions' Guardian

Winner of the Guardian Children's Fiction Award, Michelle Magorian's Goodnight Mister Tom has been captivating readers for over thirty years; her other novel Back Home is about an evacuee who struggles to fit in at home after the Second World War has ended. Goodnight Mister Tom has been adapted for BBC radio and an ITV serial starring John Thaw.

Product details

  • Format: Paperback
  • ISBN: 9780141332253
  • Size: 129 x 198mm
  • Pages: 304
  • Published: 03 Mar 2011
  • Publisher: Puffin
Back to top