Goodnight Mister Tom

» Michelle Magorian

Puffin
Paperback
: 03 Mar 2011
8 - 12 years

£7.99

A beautiful new edition, with an introduction by the author, to celebrate the 30th anniversary of this classic WW2 story.

Blurb

Goodnight Mister Tom is a children’s classic by Michelle Magorian, author of Back Home, about an evacuee from London during the Second World War. Perfect for fans of Carrie’s War by Nina Bawden.

When the Second World War breaks out, young Willie Beech is evacuated to the countryside.

A sad, deprived child, he slowly begins to flourish under the care of kind of Tom Oakley. But then his cruel mother summons him back to war-torn London. . .

Will he ever see Mister Tom again?

‘Everyone’s idea of a smash-hit first novel: full-blown characters to love and hate, moments of grief and joy, and a marvellous story that knows just how to grab the emotions’ Guardian

Winner of the Guardian Children’s Fiction Award, Michelle Magorian’s Goodnight Mister Tom has been captivating readers for over thirty years; her other novel Back Home is about an evacuee who struggles to fit in at home after the Second World War has ended. Goodnight Mister Tom has been adapted for BBC radio and an ITV serial starring John Thaw.

Your reviews

» Submit a review

Product details

Format :
Paperback
ISBN :
9780141332253
Size :
129 x 198mm
Pages :
304
Published :
03 Mar 2011
Publisher :
Puffin

Other formats for
Goodnight Mister Tom:

» Paperback : £7.99
» Paperback : £6.99
» Paperback : £6.99
» Paperback : £6.99
» Audio CD : £13.00

Goodnight Mister Tom

» Michelle Magorian

£7.99

Related email updates

Related email updates
Related email updates

To keep up-to-date, input your email address, and we will contact you on publication or when the author releases another book.

Please alert me via email when:

Form The author releases another book
Related email updates
Related email updates

Delivery Details

Usually shipped within 24 hours FREE UK Delivery*

Full delivery details

© 1995 - 2014 Penguin Books Ltd

Registered Number: 861590 England.
Registered Office: 80 Strand, London WC2R 0RL